top of page

With platinum albums and gold top ten singles the SPYS gave Australia anthems of a generation, defining and cementing themselves as Oz rock's working class heroes.

Primarily starting out as the voice of the homeless squatters of early eighties Sydney their songs spoke for everyone who felt under the thumb of the system. They told true stories of the common struggle that polite Australia didn't necessarily want to hear.

A formidable live act - the band cut its teeth in the early days opening for groups such as Midnight Oil, INXS, Hoodoo Gurus, Split Enz, the Models and Men At Work as well as gracing the stage with international artists U2, David Bowie, Simple Minds and The Clash.

Throughout the 80's the band released landmark recordings Meet Us Inside, Harry's Reasons, AO Mod TV Vers., Xenophobia[Why?], and Trash The Planet to critical acclaim.

In 2018 founding guitarist Michael Weiley reunited with original drummer Cliff Grigg. 

Tragically Michael passed away shortly thereafter.

Cliff brings an enormous amount of explosive energy, experience & enthusiasm to the band which reflects in the live shows that will leave you breathless. His song writing & drumming style can be heard on countless classic rock tracks like platinum selling Don’t Tear It Down, Credit Cards, One Of A Kind, AO MOD, Clarity Of Mind and many more.

Move forward to 2024 and the band perform the songs as authentically and true to the original sounds that is SPY v SPY.

SPY v SPY is

CLIFF GRIGG - drums/vocals
PAUL COXON - bass/vocals

DAVE ROMEO - guitar/vocals


Marcus D. Wright -

Ben Sarros - Permier Artists


Spy mr island WEBSITE.png
Spy mr island WEBSITE.png
Anchor 1
bottom of page